Quantum Mechanics


What is COST?

COST is an intergovernmental framework for European Cooperation in Science and Technology, allowing the coordination of nationally-funded research on a European level.


COST countries

35 member states: 

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Serbia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and

One cooperating state:



Materials, Physics and Nanosciences (MPNS) Domain

The Domain Materials, Physics and Nanosciences (MPNS) is home to material science, extending from conception through to production and includes characterization, examination, evaluation, fabrication and development, to actual application and service, as well as related databases, codes, standards and inspections. The Domain thus also incorporates nanomaterials and nanosciences and the nanotechnological applications thereof. It also supports exploratory basic and applied research in physics, theoretical and experimental, as a key to understanding the laws governing the behaviour of matter and energy.


MPNS COST Action MP1006

Fundamental Problems in Quantum Physics is the first action ever to work on quantum mechanics and its foundations.  Apart from COST countries, the action also has members from non COST countries, namely the United States of America, India, Mexico and South Africa.  

Countries participating in the MPNS COST Action MP1006 are:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and United Kingdom. 

The structure of the action is given below:


Chair: Angelo Bassi

Vice Chair: Detlef Dürr

Executive Support

Head of WG1: Nino Zanghi

Head of WG2: Irene Burghardt

Head of WG3: Fay Dowker

Head of WG4: Beatrix Hiesmayr

STSM-Coord: Catalina Curceanu

Grant-Manager: M. Oelker


Management Committee

(58 Members from 24 countries)



Angelo Bassi (Action Chair) explains what this COST Action is about


European Cooperation in Science and Technology


23/03/2015 - 26/03/2015

COST Conference 2015 "Fundamental Problems in Quantum Physics"

Location: Erice, Italy


We offer financial support for Short Term Scientific Missions (STSMs).

Submissions from

1st June 2014.

Deadline for applications

1st March 2015

more details (2014) (pdf)